Posted on

Snack Break: Congratulations

I apologize for this later post, but with an internet connectivity issue that I had during the Oscars, I only just now had the ability to send out my congratulations to the winner of Best Picture for the 87th Academy Awards: Birdman (or the Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance).

Birdman

Unlike some previous years, I had seen all of the nominees before the ceremony this year. With half of the eight nominees being biopics, it was clear which one was the most original of them all. Here was my review of this well-deserved Oscar winner: “If this isn’t the most unique and meta film made in the last decade, then I don’t know what is. Practically shot in one entire cut/take, Birdman is impressive on that front alone. However, its raw and unabashed look at modern Hollywood, theatre, popularity, vitality, and criticism makes me want it to win Best Picture all the more.”

In fact, upon repeat viewings, the depth of the characters and the messages that are hidden right beneath the surface are quite profound. If you haven’t seen this film yet, please do!

Leave a Reply

